top of page

Spring Break Is Meant For Exploring

The distinctive sound of seagulls cawing and pigeons wooing filled my ears. I looked out into the ocean and admired how beautifully it glistened in the sun. The way it clashed against the mountain tops, lightly dusted with snow.

Wait, what? Snow?

Yup, exactly. Because where I went had no beach, just seven beautiful mountains arched around a city with an open view to the ocean. That, my friends, is the wonderful city of Bergen, Norway. And who says spring break has to be at the beach anyways?

Spring break is just another excuse for me to explore new places, especially ones further away. I don't restrict it just to the beach (although kicking back and feeling the warm sand against my skin is always amazing).

But, to be fair, my boyfriend and I are pretty unorthodox. We eat and travel to weird places, so it only made sense that we took our chance with Norway. It may have been pretty unexpected, okay very unexpected, but that's just how life works sometimes. And if you look at it this way, our original idea was to travel to Canada, so I guess going somewhere cold was our theme this year.

Quite frankly, Norway is an expensive country. No doubts about it. And yes, I am still a struggling college student so I can imagine that you are probably wondering how I ended up there for spring break.

Well, it's mostly because I got lucky. In the end of December, my boyfriend and I were having doubts about how much we could spend for break. We figured it would be better off to stay back on campus and take a week to relax.

Out of nowhere, sometime right before New Years, I got a message from my boyfriend saying we should fly to Norway. I honestly thought he was joking since flights are usually super expensive, but then he told me something I never thought I would hear. Norwegian Air was offering one-way tickets to Bergen for $99. I was amused by how random it all was but overjoyed. I looked up pictures of Bergen on Google and instantly became set on going. Besides, what are the chances that we would come across a deal that great again?

So, obviously come mid-March, we packed our bags and head off to Bergen. It was a bit chilly at times, especially during the evenings, but it was an unforgettable time non-the-less.

 

Norway may be a bit of an extreme for some spring-breakers, I get it, but the moral of the story is this:

Don't be afraid to take chances and keep your eyes open to every opportunity.

You never know when the chance of a lifetime will come by, so always be ready to jump on the opportunity. We obviously got really lucky that we were looking for flights and came across an "End of the Year Sale" by Norwegian Air. It's not often that you can find $99 tickets to go abroad, not even within the United States sometimes.

Another pro-tip is to:

Always plan a few months in advance.

Companies are already head of the game when it comes to planning for spring break season (between March and April). Airlines and hotels that draw a lot of attention from college students, already have prices set pretty high during those two months. The key is to plan a trip months in advance, especially if you are looking to go to popular destinations like anywhere in Florida or Cancun, Mexico. The closer you book anything near your planned travel dates, the more expensive it will be.

Another solution is to look for other destinations. Like mentioned before, don't be afraid of doing something unusual for spring break. You don't always have to go to the beach or somewhere tropical. Find another place where you would like to go, or if you are even more daring, find the cheapest ticket to anywhere and just go. Not only will you save money on travel but you could use it to do more exciting things at your destination. That sounds like a win-win to me.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page