top of page

Starting the New Year Living "Una Pura Vida"

Costa Rica is one of the happiest countries in the world, so why wouldn’t that be the first place you would want to visit of the new year? With 2018 being the year of self-care, Costa Rica is the best way to jump start good vibes and a dedicated plan to taking care of yourself.

“Pura Vida” is the Ticos life style motto and it means “pure life”. It is a saying that they use for almost anything, from a greeting, cheer, description, empathetic statement, to the label of their culture that represents their easy-going and simple life style.

So, in honor of the new year, I decided that I will try to create my own “pure life”. A life that I will continue to build up from the stepping stones I created in the years prior. But if I really want to know how to create my own “pure life”, I’ll have to learn from local Ticos first.

That’s why I can’t wait to kick off this year on a great adventure. Especially with this insane, freezing weather we have been having, I’m happy for my little get-away to somewhere warm.

I have been planning to go to Costa Rica since spring of 2017 and have been counting down the days ever since. Now there is only 3 more days to go!

Although not a solo trip, it’s a faculty-led trip through Pace with 14 other students. The great thing about it is that I will have all the other students to share the experience with and a bad-ass professor who loves to surf and has visited the country several times to guide us along the way.

It will be a jam packed trip starting on January 10th until the 20th filled with horseback riding, hiking, volunteer work, all the while learning about Tico culture and what it truly means to live “una pura vida”. So hopefully along the way, I can pick up a few tips to guide my life to be happier, eco-friendlier, and simpler.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page