top of page

8 Things to Do When You Can't Travel this Summer

As travelers, we are all itching to get back out there and explore the world. Although countries, such as Europe, are beginning to open to international travel at the beginning of July, U.S citizens will still have some restrictions. Since the United States has taken very conflicting approaches to reduce the spread of COVID-19 since the start of the pandemic in February, cases are still sky-rocketing as cities and states begin to reopen.


Even within the U.S, it's not advisable to travel to other states, as many have taken steps back and have shut down areas, such as bars and beaches, again after recently reopening only a few weeks prior.


So, what can you do when you can't travel this summer? Plenty!


From learning new skills, exploring the great outdoors, to eating around the world right in your kitchen, there's a lot more to do than you may think. Check out the list below for 8 cool things you can do this summer!


1. Eat the World Right from Your Kitchen



Traveling for food is the new norm. We travel to immerse ourselves not only in the culture but in their local cuisine. But just because we can't travel to Spain to eat tapas or India to eat curry, doesn't mean we can't try to recreate those flavors right in the comfort of our home!


Now that I'm back home for the summer, I finally have a full kitchen and the time to start experimenting. Since it's been so hot outside, I've been on a very light, plant-based kick lately and have also been interested in bringing more Middle Eastern and Mediterranean flavors into the kitchen. I've been trying to bring more veggies to the table beyond just salads into full main course meals (although there's nothing wrong with a filling and refreshing salad on a 90-degree day).


One of the favorites that I made so far is falafel with all the works. Everything was homemade and it was all so so good. I made quick pickled onions, avocado coleslaw, hummus, and classic falafel with homemade pita bread. It was definitely a lot of work but if you can get family or friends to join you, it makes it that much more fun and rewarding!



2. Plan Your Next Trip Without a Date in Mind



Maybe you had to cancel a trip, or you wanted to travel but you didn't make any plans yet, well now is the perfect time to start! There's nothing wrong with a little daydreaming about where you want to go and what you would like to do!


Although doing research online is helpful, I find the best way to discover new destinations is through TV shows, movies, social media, and books! Although sometimes the tourist traps prevail in media, you can also find some hidden gems that you may have never even thought to look up. So if you didn't have an excuse to binge-watch Netflix before, now you have the perfect reason to.



3. Local Exploration


Sometimes we get so caught up in exploring the outside world and flaunting the countries we go to that we forget all the cool gems that are in our local area. Albeit, keeping social distancing in mind and making sure these areas are open to the public right now, it's a great way to get out of the house and satisfying that adventure itch.


This is also a great way to support local businesses! Recently, I rediscovered this chocolate milk that I loved as a kid. I didn't realize how close they were to my home and decided to look up if they had a market onsite. Thankfully, they did! I took my siblings along with me and we discovered the countrysides of Beaver County that we never really knew existed around here. And, we found out that Brunton's Farm also makes ice cream! A summer must that we'll have to go back for another time. And of course, we enjoyed some delicious local chocolate milk and saw some cows on the way!



4. Get Outside and Walk, Bike, Hike, etc.



Now that the weather is always sunny, it's the perfect time to get outside and explore the great outdoors. Whether it's for a walk at a local park, taking a hike through the woods, biking, or maybe even some water sports, it's a fun and active way to get everyone in the family involved.


Keep in mind though that trails may be more trafficked than usual right now (something I was surprised about my first time back on the trails), but that doesn't have to stop you from enjoying it too! Take it as an opportunity to explore new trails and areas near you!



5. Virtually Cook with Friends and/or Family



Virtual happy hours with friends became the next best thing to drinking alone in our houses while stuck in quarantine. But just because states are opening up, some of us are still unable to travel to see some of our friends and family. Although video chatting is a great way to connect with loved ones, virtual cooking together could be the next best way to spice things up. This is especially a great idea to do with parents or grandparents, as I find they really do love passing down family traditions down to the next generations.


The first time I tested this out was with my grandmother this past Easter. Usually, my grandparents come up from Florida to Pennsylvania to visit, but because of the current pandemic, they were unable to travel. It was actually my grandmother's idea to video chat via Skype while making a traditional German meal for Easter called maultaschen. It was actually my first time ever making it myself, so I am thankful she was virtually by my side with each step. I also think that the moment meant a lot for her since she had someone to cook and chat with, even if I wasn't in the kitchen beside her. Even to this day, she still talks about how happy that made her and that we need to try some new recipes out together.


6. Reconnect with Old Hobbies



Life gets so busy sometimes and responsibilities become stressful that we often lose sight of things that we once loved. The time during quarantine gave me plenty of time to reflect on things in life that make me happy and what I want to spend more of my days doing. Even though things are opening back up, it's the perfect time to try to incorporate those hobbies back into our "normal" lifestyles.


For instance, soccer was "my life" as a kid. I loved it so much that I always dreamed of going pro when I was older. I ended up quitting right before my college season started, but it's a sport that is still dear to my heart. Once the local park opened up, after a 4-year retirement, I laced up my old cleats and had a little scrimmage with my younger siblings. Even though I was sore the next day, I never knew how happy it would make me to reconnect with my first love.



7. Learn a New Skill



Just like reconnecting to things we once loved, this is also the perfect time to learn something new! Ever wanted to get into a yoga routine? Learn to play that instrument that's been sitting in the corner of your room? Whatever it may be, now is your chance to start!


This summer, I decided to try my hand on a few things. Although I don't have the space for a garden, I wanted to attempt to grow some of my own veggies and herbs in pots on our little balcony. I wasn't too sure how it would go since my mom doesn't exactly have a green thumb, but I took the chance anyway. I potted some basil, serrano peppers, and cherry tomatoes and they have been growing like crazy! Thank you to all the Youtube videos and fellow gardening friends that I consulted along the way, now I have something that I look forward to checking up on every morning when I wake up (and more yummy things to make in the kitchen).


8. Travel to New Destinations While Reading


Just because we can't travel this summer, doesn't mean you can't go on a mental journey to a new destination. Reading is a great way to immerse yourself in new cities or cultures and imagine yourself in the writer's shoes.


Personally, I have always enjoyed reading travel memoirs. One of my favorite summer reads is Life in a Postcard: Escape to the French Pyrenees by Rosemary Bailey that follows her journey to remodeling an old monk monastery and learning about the unique culture of a small town in the Pyrenees influenced by the two bordering countries, France and Spain. And even if nonfiction isn't really your style, fiction books such as Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal and many other books, also give you that sense of wonder not only in actual cities but enchanting fantasy ones as well.


 

Although it's unfortunate that it may not be the most ideal time to travel at the moment, that doesn't mean that travelers have to suffer. There are lots of new and old things that can be (re) discovered this summer. And now with these 8 ideas, you can get your jump start on a great summer adventure.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page