top of page

NYC: Musical Surprises on Every Corner

One of the many things I noticed while wandering the streets of NYC this summer was the vibrancy you could find on every corner. And I am not talking about the hustle and bustle that the city is known for, but the music that seems to dictate the rhythm of every passerby.

Dancers at the Hare Krishna Celebration in Washington Square Park

Of course, as the saying goes, "Music brings people together", it couldn't have been more true during the delightful celebrations I would randomly come across on the day to day. Even though tensions can be high sometimes here in America, there is still something about the music that gets people smiling and moving together, regardless of race or religion.

I think the best example of this would be the Hare Krishna Festival I stumbled upon at Washington Square Park. Although I will be completely honest, I had no idea what the festival was for or what Hare Krishna meant at that time, I still found myself immersed in the welcoming atmosphere and wanting to step in and dance along side of everyone. If my feet weren't hurting from all the walking I did beforehand, I probably would have. It wasn't until later on that I discovered Hare Krishna is a movement (although some may call it a cult) of Hinduism. The logistics behind it, I'm not entirely sure. Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable afternoon.

And then there are the more radical people who like to push the limits of New York traffic. And honestly props to them. Nothing is more exciting than watching a wild group having a great time. Not seen in the picture above is the big crowd they drew in, with people swinging around, dancing and not having a care in the world. Union Square is always a great place to catch people playing music, but this was definitely the cherry on top.

I later found out after a quick search online that the group known as Abracadabra Trip drives around the city and spontaneously performs to inspire freedom and passion in everyday life. The best way to describe their mission (and the power of any music for that matter) is directly from their words that "even the most cynical New Yorker is not immune to our contagious spirit of celebration and human connection. Much needed in an ever divided world".

I couldn't have said it better myself.

Little tip for next time you find yourself walking through the city with headphones on, try taking them out. Maybe you will discover other rhythms to grove to.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page