top of page

My First Hike in 3 Months

While stuck in the confines of our homes during the COVID-19 pandemic, many sought out nature for a quick escape from reality.


However, as great as it is that people are finally appreciating nature around them, the mass amount of crowds flooding parks to "distance" from people caused many national, state, and recreational parks to close from public use around the end of March/beginning of April.


Thankfully, all 62 national parks have opened up again in June, although the masses have yet to slow down in many places and whether or not people are following COVID prevention methods is also questionable while on the trails.


After months of staying away from the trails myself, I figured it was about time to get some fresh air. I will admit that I haven't done too much hiking around Western PA, but the few times that I have gone, trails have always been relatively empty and so, I naively didn't expect a big difference when I went.


Boy was I wrong.



My first hike back was in Raccoon Creek State Park, a classic park only about an hour from me. This park is always crowded along the lake with a swimming beach and other water activities during the summertime, but I never noticed too many cars parked along road near the trailheads. Of course, the one time I think nothing of it, parking was lined up along the street side as we neared the trail.


I think the first mistake was that I left my mask in the car, still skeptical that we wouldn't come across a lot of people while actually on the trail. I was wrong yet again.



To my surprise, there were large families in the masses hiking! Mom, Dad, Grandma, Grandpa, and lots of kids. Everyone was in for the hike. It was as if this was the new family reunion location.


I also noticed that no one wore face masks. I wish I could say that surprised me, but it didn't. I don't think anyone was expecting the park to be as busy as it was.


I did realize, though, that there was a new etiquette that many were doing in order to be as cautious as possible given the circumstances. Of course, we all know that when two different groups are passing each other on the trail, one of the groups stops and steps to the side of the trail to let the other through. Well now, people would turn their backs away from the group as they pass each other. Although a small act, it still seemed like there was some sense of caution towards other fellow hikers.



Regardless, I still think that people should be a bit more cautious even when they are in the wild, myself included. Even though the chances of getting the virus are decreased while outside compared to being indoors, I still think that hikers should still be practicing social distancing methods, especially while on heavier trafficked trails.


It has been recommended to wear face masks while on the trails, or at least while passing by other groups. The latter option seems a bit more feasible in my eyes. But I think the best and most reasonable option of all is to be wise when choosing where to hike. Don't go to heavily populated areas that you know of, and when you notice the trail is heavily trafficked when you arrive, try to find another one nearby that is more secluded.


I know that being cautious can be challenging while on small trails. And, I know that it's warm out and everyone wants to finally get outside. I do too! But, I think it is for the benefit of all of us hikers that we take some more precautions so that we can all enjoy the trails with some peace of mind. Hiking is supposed to be relaxing and a destresser after all.








You Might Also Like:
bottom of page